cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Notice

On February 24, 2022 Bose will be closing the Online Community Forum. We would like to thank all those who participated by sharing their experiences and love of Bose products. Online support for Portable PA products is still available by visiting Bose Support.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Paul6
Contributor
  • 2
  • 10
  • 0
Registered since

May 10, 2021

Use S1 pro as bluetooth source for Sub1

Hi

 

BOSE recommends input source for Sub1 should come from a mixer, then use Sub1 crossover for output to S1 Pro. I guess that is normal.

 

But, is there any chance of using S1 pro as input source, including its Bluetooth and instrument/mic inputs?

 

Maybe a firmware/app update to drop off low frequencies in S1 Pro, and then input to Sub1 to get the same effect?

 

I can then avoid bringing an extra mixer board or input device.  : ) Even more portable !

 

 

 

 

Thanks

 

 

6 REPLIES 6
Dylan_R
Moderator

Re: Use S1 pro as bluetooth source for Sub1

Hey Paul6,

Welcome to the forum! Thank you for joining us.

You would be able to connect from the S1 Pro's 'LINE OUT' to the Sub1 bass module, if you're wanting to play over Bluetooth. While the S1 Pro does not have an optional HPF, you shouldn't really notice too much of an overlap with this setup.

Hope this helps!

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply. If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!
Paul6
Contributor
  • 2
  • 10
  • 0
Registered since

May 10, 2021

Re: Use S1 pro as bluetooth source for Sub1

Yes, that's what I did.  Sure it works, but I am picking up some muddy sounds in the duplicated low frequencies when S1 Pro is source "line out" in to the Sub1.  When I do the recommended Sub1 line out to S1 Pro, ( or to another top box ), the Sub1 Pro High Pass Filter gets rid of the low frequencies and the top box is much cleaner in sound, especially for an acoustic double bass.

 

I was really hoping that BOSE could firmware emulate the same in reverse, so that the S1 Pro would self High Pass Filter and let the Sub1 take a clean load below 180Hz. It's on my dream wish list... for the S1 Pro to become a defacto mixer and bluetooth source for the Sub1, while respecting the benefits of a HPF.

 

Thanks !  : )

 

 

Dylan_R
Moderator

Re: Use S1 pro as bluetooth source for Sub1

Hey Paul6,

I get you - I have raised this request to our development team for future consideration.

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply. If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!
Paul6
Contributor
  • 2
  • 10
  • 0
Registered since

May 10, 2021

Re: Use S1 pro as bluetooth source for Sub1

 

I have noticed a lot of ppl in You Tube using the S1 pro as the source for the Sub1, even the local PA shop had it set up like this because it is easier to do !

 

But here is the real reason.....many small gig players start with an S1 Pro for its great all-round performance, it is an entry level product to the BOSE experience. Then we soon discover that as you go from 50 to 100 ppl, more "oompf " is need,  but we don't want to throw away our investment in the S1 Pro, so add the Sub1.  By the time we need a dedicated mixer as the Sub1 source, then we are not using S1 Pro anymore - time for the next level upgrade.

 

Your BOSE marketing ppl would love this, it would be the perfect upgrade feature pathway that your existing S1 Pro users would value.  It would bring your customers back again and again for incremental improvements, with each step integrated and matched. BOSE would be the first.

 

Yes, please pass on to firmware/app engineers - hopefully it is an app update for S1 Pro in "Sub Mode" HPF connection. But this would need to auto reset back to full mode after switching off, just so the S1 Pro does not stay in HPF mode.

 

 

 

Thank You !

DJ Heisenberg
Contributor
  • 0
  • 15
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 11, 2021

Re: Use S1 pro as bluetooth source for Sub1

This would truly be amazing!

Wyburn21
Participant
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
Registered since

Jun 5, 2012

Re: Use S1 pro as bluetooth source for Sub1

I want to second that and add that oftentimes as a acoustic singer/songwriter during gigs I use Bluetooth for background music while I am taking a break. Using the s1 pro as the Bluetooth source would defeat the crossover function of the Sub1 and not give me as clean of a sound. If I had it hooked up as s1 pro as the source using line out to Sub1 right now there is no crossover function, but if I hooked it up from mixer (my tone match mixer) to Sub1 then to S1 Pro like it was designed I would not get any sound from the Sub1 while using Bluetooth. A HPF/ frequency cutoff option in the app is the only solution that I can come up with and then we would have the sound going from the s1 pro line out into Sub1.